Use with Silverlight project

Aug 14, 2009 at 10:35 PM

Hi, Is this project ready to be used with Silverlight? I was confused going through http://silverlight.net/forums/t/93085.aspx which mentions about an aggregate on an observable collection. But when I tried to add the binaries to my SL project, I got a "Not built against Silverlight runtime error".

Can you please advise.

Thanks Vinay

Coordinator
Aug 15, 2009 at 12:25 AM

Hi Vinay,

Unfortunately Obtics has not been ensured yet against silverlight.

The binaries have been compiled against the standard .Net libraries. I am not a Silverlight expert but I know that it uses its own set of runtime libraries. (its own System, System.Core etc. assemblies) and the Obtics sources will need to be compiled against those for it to be usable with Silverlight. I haven't done it yet and I expect there will be some incompatibilities but I don't know how bad they will be.

If someone would like to do this I would be very interested.

Regs,

Thomas.

Coordinator
Aug 23, 2009 at 2:11 AM

The latest source checkin (26133) has a project Obtics_Silverlight that builds a working Obtics library for Silverlight.

The help of BindingHelper_Silverlight is needed for convenient binding to IValueProvider properties. Checkout ObticsUnitTestRunner_SilverLight for an example.

Regs,

Thomas.

Aug 26, 2009 at 9:13 PM

I downloaded the latest binaries and followed instructions mentioned in http://silverlight.net/forums/t/93085.aspx 

I basically need to track sum of a particular property within an object which implments INOtifyChange. However I get the following compilation error